Magdalena Dilimot

San Diego, CA, US
Field of Work 
Robotics
Company 
Caterpillar Inc (2001-March 2017)
Job Title or "Student" 
New Product Introduction Project Lead
Education 
University of Manitoba
Degree 
Robotics and Controls
Education Level 
Masters
Profile Biography 
I have 17 years of developing control technologies and automation, working for industries that include heavy duty machinery, electric power generation (both traditional and renewable energy), electronics. I have performed many roles including technical project management, team and process improvement management, controls algorithms development and implementation.

I have a master's degree in Robotics and Controls, which got me into the technology industry.
The industry has changed and evolved so much since I graduated and I see that trend continuing at even a more rapid pace. Given the rapid pace of how technology is becoming more and more commonplace in everything we do, I see unlimited opportunities in this field into the future. Think space transportation, self driving cars, flying cars, Internet of Things, renewable energy.

I worked for 15 years for a Fortune 100 company and had the chance to be an integral part of the development of new products. I have had so many opportunities to have different roles and learn new things. I cannot even describe the great feeling of bringing to the market a new product that you know will make an impact in people lives. But the best part is the journey itself, the design and development process and working with a brilliant, passionate team of experts to get there.

According to Myers-Briggs Type Indicator I am an ENTJ (Extroversion, Intuition, Thinking, Judging). One might say I use both sides of my brain. Since early age, as a kid I liked to read books, solve maths problems and yes I was a little bit of fashionista too. I am an extrovert, I get energy from interacting with people. I am also methodical and analytical. Eight years ago I got into technical project management because it combines the technical, planning, strategy, process and interpersonal skills.

I have been fortunate to have great mentors and role models. I have learned the importance of mentoring and been trying to pay it forward. l was a mentor for First Robotics, 6 Sigma Case Competition just to mention a few.

Outside of work I have a number interests. The main ones are running and traveling. Running is a good way to spend time outdoors, stay fit and meet like minded people. I like to do destination half marathons and occasionally full marathons. I also like relays (marathon or long distance relays like Ragnar-200 miles), relays are a great team building experience.
Interests 
Reading, Travel, Sports
Race & Ethnicity 
White
Level of Participation 
Online role model
My Experience 
I am a new Role Model.
Availability 
No Preference
Resources 
Career exploration activities
Program Affiliation 
Society of Women Engineers (SWE)

 All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy »  Terms of Use »  
© 2021, National Girls Collaborative