Kim Bishop

Santa Rosa, CA, US
Field of Work 
Mechanical Engineering
Company 
Keysight Technologies
Job Title or "Student" 
Mechanical R&D Engineer
Education 
California Polytechnic, San Luis Obispo
Degree 
B.S. Mechanical Engineering
Education Level 
Bachelors
Profile Biography 
Get dirty and build stuff. That's pretty much my mantra in life.

I grew up in the mountains of Southern California. I started tinkering with bicycles at a young age, and would build contraptions out of broken copy machine parts that my dad would bring home from work. Whenever my dad would be in his shop working on a project or fixing the car, I would usually be right there either helping or building something on my own. I loved anything I could build with; LEGOs, Construx, Tinker Toys, you name it. I still enjoy playing with LEGOs with my son.

When I was in high school, I couldn't wait to take shop classes because I wanted to know how to make things. I took graphic arts, metal shop, wood shop, and drafting. The drafting class is what really led me into STEM, I liked the precision of it and enjoyed getting to design things. The skills I learned in metal shop I still use to a great extent today, and have expanded upon them over the years. I absolutely love welding, and do it every chance I get.

I received my Bachelors of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo in 1999. While I was there, I spent two years as part of the Human Powered Vehicle team, where we designed and built a recumbent bicycle with a fairing, designed to travel at much higher speeds than a regular bicycle.

I currently work at Keysight Technologies as a Mechanical R&D Engineer. I first joined Keysight (Agilent) in 2000 where I have worked as a Mechanical Production Engineer and a Mechanical R&D Engineer. My core expertise is in the area of instrument enclosure design and thermal management of electronics. I still like to get into the shop whenever I can, either machining parts or fabricating sheet metal.

Outside of work, my hobbies include rock climbing, hiking, building and restoring cars, wood working, and making beer.

There are a handful of volunteer projects that I participate in. Since 2004, I have been a member of the team that hosts Introduce a Girl to Engineering Day at Keysight/Agilent. Over the years, we have hosted over 1000 young women and introduced them to various fields of engineering, and gave them a chance to see what it is like to work on an engineering related project. More recently, I have been working on a project with a wildlife biologist to design and fabricate mountain lion traps. These traps will allow the biologist to safely capture and place a tracking collar on the cats in order to study them and their territory. I am also a member of Community WISE (Women Investing in STEM Equity); our goal is to invest in programs and outreach to get more young women interested in pursuing STEM careers. I am also an active member of the Society of Women Engineers.
Interests 
Working outdoors, Reading, Travel, Sports, Other
Race & Ethnicity 
White
Level of Participation 
After-school visit, In-school visit, Online role model
My Experience 
I am a new Role Model.
Availability 
Weekdays
Resources 
Fun demonstrations or materials, Hands-on activities for students, Online Mentoring (email or Skype)
Program Affiliation 
Society of Women Engineers (SWE)
Other Interests 
Homebrewing, camping/backpacking, welding, woodworking

 All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy »  Terms of Use »  
© 2020, National Girls Collaborative