Keshia Ashe

Newington, CT, US
Field of Work 
Chemical Engineering
 
Regenerative Engineering
Company 
University of Connecticut/ManyMentors
Job Title or "Student" 
Ph.D. candidate/Co-Founder & CEO
Education 
University of Virginia
Degree 
Biomedical Engineering
Education Level 
Bachelors
Profile Biography 
Hey! My name is Keshia and I am a FabFem because I love being an engineer and also helping other people. Here’s a little bit about me:

I’m from Hampton, VA. My mom is a 3D animation teacher and my dad has a small carpet cleaning business. I was a dancer (mostly ballet but I also love hip hop, jazz, tap!) up until the age of 13. Then started running track (hurdles!) at my high school and continued running through college at the University of Virginia. When I was in high school I started to really get involved in my community. Thanks to great organizations like Alternatives, Inc. and Onsite Insights, Inc., I had many opportunities to get involved in youth activism in the surrounding communities, schools, and eventually across the country and internationally! I served as a youth speaker and trainer to educate youth and adults alike on the benefits of incorporating the youth perspective in strategic decision making.

After high school I started attending the University of Virginia. I majored in Biomedical Engineering because I knew from high school that I liked math and science. Also, I liked that Biomedical Engineers work to improve the lives of people everywhere. I still continued my work in youth advocacy by serving as an international youth trainer, consultant to student organizations at the University, and mentor to young middle school-aged girls. Also I became a researcher in a Tissue Engineering lab and got my first taste of research! Life as a student-athlete wasn’t always easy, but it was definitely worth it. I made life-long friends in college and learned a lot in my engineering classes and research experiences. I also proved to myself that I was capable of doing anything I put my mind to!

After I graduated from the University of Virginia I decided to continue on to graduate school to earn a Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering at the University of Connecticut. My current research is focused on the use of small molecules to enhance bone regeneration. That’s right, I make bone. This area of research is really important because a lot of people experience injuries or diseases that are reduce their mobility, and sometimes the natural healing process isn’t enough to restore functions. We work to provide another solution to conventional methods and get people back on their feet (literally). Bone tissue engineering is one piece of a larger research community that regenerates all sorts of tissue in the body...from bone to nerve to heart and skin!

All throughout my life, mentors have played a big role in my life. So along with my friend Tiffany St. Bernard, we started a mentoring nonprofit organization to expand mentoring opportunities for minority and female students interested in the science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) fields. ManyMentors is a nonprofit organization focused on using onsite, online, and mobile platforms to connect working professionals and college-aged mentors with middle and high school students interested the STEM fields. We are currently developing an enhanced website and mobile app, but in the meantime we’ve had a positive impact on young people in the Greater Hartford area through our outreach activites. We hope to expand nationally so all young people can benefit from the inspiration, encouragement, and support caring peer mentors can provide.

Outside of research and mentoring, I love to hang out with my family and friends! I'm an avid traveler and have been all over the world! From Singapore to London, and Hong Kong to the islands (Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic), I plan to see most of the world in my lifetime! I also love adventures! I've hung out under waterfalls, jumped from planes, climbed up mountains, and walked off of cliffs over 30 feet in the air! I love fitness too-- I teach fitness classes at LA Fitness (kickboxing yea!) and run in a half-marathon once a year.

I’d love to get you know about you! Since you are on this site, I already know you are a FabFem ;) but shoot me an email and tell me why!
Interests 
Pets, Dance, Poetry, Reading, Travel, Sports, Other
Race & Ethnicity 
Other
Level of Participation 
After-school visit, Field trip participation, Job shadow, Online role model, Summer camp visit
My Experience 
I have been a Role Model many times.
Availability 
Evenings
Resources 
Career exploration activities, Fun demonstrations or materials, Hands-on activities for students, Identifying other role models
Program Affiliation 
Other

 All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy »  Terms of Use »  
© 2018, National Girls Collaborative