Jay Desai

Field of Work 
Chemical Engineering
 
Biology, Medical Technology
Company 
Retired
Job Title or "Student" 
System Engineer, Environmental Engineer and Training Coordinator
Education 
K.C. College in India. Chicago Institute of Medical Technologist, U of MN Chemical Engineer.
Degree 
BSc in Chemistery Biology, B.S. in Medical Technologist, B.S. in CheMe
Education Level 
Bachelors
Profile Biography 
My first Bachelor degree was in 1974 with the majors in Botany and Chemistry from India. This gave me an opportunity to started my career as a Medical Technologist in Chicago, Illinois. After moving to MN and 14 years after being awarded my first Bachelors of Science degree, I successfully pursued a Chemical Engineering degree at the University of Minnesota. I always wanted to improve my education where I can present myself professionally and make more money. My dad was my Role Model since my mom and dad both believed in higher education for girls.

After working in the Medical Technologist field for 8 yrs and Energy development Field for 22 years, I have retired in 2012.

I have continues contributed professionally through the Society of Women Engineers. SWE focus their activities on promoting the representation of women in engineering. I mentor many young girls and women to help them achieve their long-term aspirations in science.

I was born and raised in Mumbai, India, however some of my most fond childhood recollections were the summers spent visiting my parents’ village in Gujarat, India. Extended family from both sides of her family were also there, making these summers life long cherished memories.

Throughout my time in India, I have witnessed lack of educational support all around. Ultimately, all of these experiences shaped my commitment to help children through organizations like Sci Girls, SWE, Youth CARE and more. By nurturing them through this organization and working with wonderful team members, an educating opportunities can be transformed into opportunities for educational, economic, and social development. I believe, “One’s greatest achievement is make a difference in the world one child at a time.”

Interests 
Working outdoors, Reading, Travel, Sports, Other
Race & Ethnicity 
Asian
Level of Participation 
Other
My Experience 
I have been a Role Model many times.
Availability 
Weekdays
Resources 
Hands-on activities for students, Online Mentoring (email or Skype)
Program Affiliation 
SciGirls
Other Interests 
Helping children to Empower
Other Level of Participation 
Working with Apple Valley cedar Elementary Sci Girls

 All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy »  Terms of Use »  
© 2018, National Girls Collaborative