Becky Bauman

Sioux Falls, SD, US
Field of Work 
Design
 
Marketing Graphic Design
Company 
Good Samaritan Society
Job Title or "Student" 
Graphic Designer
Education 
South Dakota State University
Degree 
Graphic Design
Education Level 
Bachelors
Profile Biography 
Hi there! I am a spirited designer who believes good design translates into powerful communication. It's my job to help people and businesses communicate ideas and feelings using images and words. I specialize in illustration, marketing and print design.

Graphic Design is something I have always been interested in. As a kid, I designed my own books, magazines, and greeting cards. I loved creating digital art during computer class in elementary school, and took my first graphic design class in 7th grade. I enrolled in numerous art and design courses in high school, and second semester of college declared myself an official Graphic Design major.

My first design job was with Daktronics during college. I was a marketing graphic designer for the Transportation Business Unit. The 2.5 years I spent working there helped educate me in real world design and communication. After graduating college, I married my best friend and moved to Sioux Falls, SD, where I took a job at the Washington Pavilion of Arts and Science as a marketing graphic designer. A few years later, I accepted a creative graphic design position in the communications department of the Good Samaritan Society, where I am currently employed.

Before settling into my career, I enjoyed spending time in the classroom as a substitute teacher over the span of about 6 years. (I started when I was 18!) I was hired as an Interactor in the Kirby Science Discovery Center at the Washington Pavilion, teaching science demonstrations on and off-site prior to accepting my position as a graphic designer. During my time at the Pavilion, I became an after school instructor for an Action Arts and Science program. I currently teach middle school religious education on Wednesday nights. It's safe to say, I love being the classroom.

Other than design, I enjoy being a mom to two boys, performing in community theater, and spending time with my amazing family and friends.
Interests 
Pets, Dance, Reading, Travel, Acting
Race & Ethnicity 
White
Level of Participation 
After-school visit, Field trip participation, In-school visit, Online role model, Summer camp visit
My Experience 
I am a new Role Model.
Availability 
No Preference
Resources 
Career exploration activities, Fun demonstrations or materials, Hands-on activities for students
Program Affiliation 
Other
Other Program Affiliation 
AIGA

 All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy »  Terms of Use »  
© 2018, National Girls Collaborative